Open Letter in Support of Funder Open Publishing Mandates

We, the undersigned, believe that the world's scholarly literature is a public resource that only achieves its full value when it is freely available to all. For too long we have tolerated a pay-for-access business model for scholarly journals that is inequitable, impedes progress in our fields, and denies the public the full benefit of our work. We therefore welcome efforts on the part of public and private research funders to require that publications based on work they fund be made immediately freely and openly available without restrictions on access or use.

Funders are uniquely positioned to transform scholarly publishing by changing the explicit and implicit rules under which we all operate. We recognize that funder mandates may superficially limit our publishing options in the short term, but believe they will lead to a system that optimizes what we really care about: maximizing the reach of our scholarship and its value to the research community and public.

We understand that effective scholarly communication costs money, and support substantial investment in this endeavor, but only if it allows everyone to freely access and use the scholarly literature. We acknowledge that challenges remain, especially ensuring that all scholars everywhere have the unfettered ability to freely share their work and have their contributions recognized. And we therefore commit to continue working with funders, universities, research institutions and other stakeholders until we have created a stable, fair, effective and open system of scholarly communication.

- Thomas Gurry, Postdoc, MIT, USA
- José Cerca, Scientist, University of Oslo, Norway
- Damian Pattinson, Head of Innovation, Research Square, UK
- Kevin Urstadt, Professor, Occidental College, USA
- Shawn Graham, Associate Professor, Carleton University, Canada
- Matt Grubb, Senior Lecturer , King's College London , UK
- Jason Stajich, Professor, University of California Riverside, United States
- Jessica Polka, ED, ASAPbio, United States
- Allen Downey, Professor, Olin College of Engineering, United States
- Alan Fairlamb, Professor, University of Dundee, UK
- Juan Hernando, Scientific software engineer, EPFL, Switzerland
- Nikolaos Matthaiakakis, Postdoc, Tokyo institute of technology, Japan
- Zeno Heilmann, Scientist, CRS4, Italy
- Mohammad Farooq Rather, Associate Professor, Cluster University Srinagar India, India
- Malvin Gattinger, Postdoc, University of Groningen , The Netherlands
- Jody Bailey, scholarly communications librarian, Emory University Libraries, United States
- Rich Schneider, Associate Professor, University of California San Francisco (UCSF), United States
- Hannes Rost, Professor, University of Toronto, Canada
- Michael Bode, Lecturer, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
- Kai Lewis Blumberg, PhD student, University of Arizona, US

And 1928 others - see complete list here.

Sign the Letter